Ten-Minute Strawberry Pie

by Sue

With the success of my 10-minute tiramisu recipe, I thought I’d share with you my 10-minute strawberry pie!

Ingredients:

1 9” pie shell
1 quart fresh strawberries (about 15 medium-sized)
½ cup white sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch (or 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour)
¾ cup water

A few notes before I get to it:

This pie is technically supposed to be ‘no bake’ but because I had a frozen pie shell left over from baking an apple crumble pie, I thought I’d use that.  If you also want to use a frozen pie shell instead of a graham cracker pie crust from the baking aisle, you have one additional step.

You may have noticed I made a few substitutions.  I originally made this pie with white sugar, but my family rarely uses white sugar opting for honey or cane sugar to sweeten.  The dark brown sugar is what I had left over from my apple crumble pie, so I used that instead.  We also don’t make many things using cornstarch, and I didn’t see the point of going to the store just for it so I used double the amount in all-purpose flour.  For any other recipe where you don’t have cornstarch on hand, you can always substitute with double the amount of all-purpose flour. (1 tablespoon cornstarch = 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour)

Directions:

With frozen pie shell:
1. Use a fork to pierce the surface of the pie shell. This lets steam escape so you won’t have any air bubbles. Bake the shell for 10 minutes or until it turns brown.
2. Follow the rest of the instructions while your pie shell is baking in the oven.

——–

With pre-baked pie shell:

Mash about 5-6 of the ripest strawberries in a bowl.

Combine the pulp mixture, ½ cup sugar, cornstarch/ flour, and water into a small saucepan.

Bring it to a boil and let it boil for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

When the filling is thick and void of cornstarch (flour) lumps, turn off the heat let the mixture cool until the pie crust is also ready.

When the pie shell is ready, pour the filling into the crust.

Arrange the remaining strawberries over and into the filling.

(You can also arrange the strawberries beforehand and then pour the filling over the fruit.)

Let the pie cool enough outside before sticking it into the fridge for at least an hour.

Enjoy!

(No spiffy .gif this time, but I know you guys love my Hello Kitty night gown as much as I do. ;] hehe)

