Recipe: Ten-minute Tirami-SUE

by Sue

For some reason, I’m always in a hurry, or at least, I like getting lots of tasks done as quickly as possible.  Needless to say, I have that mantra when it comes to preparing meals.  There are days when I’ll humor myself by making pie crust from scratch, and there is never a day when you will catch me using canned pasta sauce.  Anyway, the point is I like things fast, and it’s even better when I have the ability to multitask.  That’s why this version of tiramisu is one of my favorites.  It takes less than 10 minutes to prepare and at least about an hour to set/ refrigerate, leaving you time to run errands, study, go to class… you get the drift.

Ingredients:

8 oz. mascarpone cheese (1 container)

8 oz. Cool Whip (1 tub)

2 large tablespoons Nutella

24 lady fingers (1 package)

100ml Baileys (1 Baileys Mini)**

1 ½ cup espresso or strong black coffee

1 or 2 Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips (optional for shaved topping)

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, combine mascarpone cheese and Cool Whip.

Mix until smooth and creamy.  You’ll find that when you initially fold both ingredients together, there are tiny lumps that rise and come from the mixture.

After you reach desired consistency, add 1 tablespoon of Nutella and fold it in until thoroughly mixed.  Add 2nd tablespoon and repeat.  Once completely mixed, set aside.

In a shallow dish, combine 1 ½ cups of espresso or strong black coffee and 100ml of Baileys.** Traditional tiramisu calls for dark rum; I’ve also experimented with Kahlua and coffee liqueurs.   To make the dessert for kid friendly (or rather, just plain non-alcoholic for you boring folk), you can opt out of the liquor.

One by one, dip the lady fingers into the coffee and Bailey concoction.  Don’t leave it in there too long or else it will become too soggy and fall apart.  My “trick” is rolling the lady fingers in the liquid round and round for at least 5 seconds (around 5 or 6 quick turns).

Arrange the soaked lady fingers in your desired pan, breaking them apart to fit the entire bottom.  The one I used today was an 8×8 baking dish, but normally for dinner parties, I would place them in wide wine glasses, or even brandy snifters.

Spread half of the creamy whipped mixture on top after layering the bottom with soaked lady fingers.

Follow it with another layer of lady fingers.

Top with the remaining mascarpone mixture.

With a cheese grater, shave the chocolate chips on top.  I couldn’t find my cheese grater, so I’m using a vegetable peeler.  Be careful not to grate your knuckles though!

Cover with saran wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.  Then enjoy!

** After tasting, I felt like it needed more liquor in it, so next time I’ll substitute the ½ cup of espresso with another 100ml of Baileys.

