countdown to… test day.

by Sue

I’ve thought of a million ways on how to begin this blog update. I used anecdotes, clichés, quotes, or anything quirky, really, to start what I want to say with a BANG, but in the end, I couldn’t make things flow together the way I imagined. The thing with imagination is that sometimes it can let you down because you’ve already created something so perfect that if one minute detail isn’t there, the path that you paved in your mind goes awry. On the other hand, imagination motivates you to take action, and depending on how vivid your dreams, it won’t matter how off the course you are.

I knew September would be a busy month for me. I worked overtime to prepare for a 4-day long deposition extravaganza and mediations galore. In my previous update, I’ve mentioned giving up on the EPA internship in DC, but in all honesty, my issue was only about the money. But if you could get an experience you’ve never had, one that could potentially help you in the future, why would you let monetary issues get in the way of doing something? I turned in my application earlier this evening. Lastly (or not so lastly considering I still have all those law school applications to fill out…), tomorrow is the Big Day. Not Doomsday, but Test Day.

I’ve always had a flair for the dramatic. You can ask my closest friends, and they’ll happily give you a few of my freak-out stories – that is if you haven’t already witnessed or been a part of my craziness via chat or twitter or other social outlet on which I have an account. So it comes to no surprise that I hyperbolized a lot of the things I worried about; I stressed a little too much. I stretched myself too thin, and over what? I know this exam I take tomorrow will be the beginning of the rest of my 20s and a big deal since most schools are predicted to only focus on numbers of their applicants in the upcoming year, but in the end, it’s just another exam.

All my hair will not fall out if I make a 140, and I will not die if I make a 120. Okay, maybe from humiliation but that is beside the point. There are statistics to show that how well you do on the LSAT reflects how well you do in your first year, but it doesn’t account for other factors that would make you a great candidate for law school. Determination. If you did not do as well as you wanted, pick yourself up and try it again. Failing only occurs when you quit, and successes are nothing without failures.

Now that I’ve introduced a cliché, I’ll give you another one: it’s not how you start but how you finish that matters. I want to thank everyone who’s shown me support on this journey – whether by telling me to chill the hell out, lending an ear where I spouted ridiculousness, or by offering advice. And lastly, I wish all LSAT takers tomorrow all the luck in the world. (or maybe you should all croak so I can get ahead ;) hehe, just kidding…)

