Dating Solvency, Vol. I

by Sue

Figuring out what you want in your life is already an arduous activity, but learning about what someone else wants and how compatible it is with you is practically impossible. The reason? Miscommunication, and I’m using this term in a very loose manner. It can be summed up as not understanding what your partner is trying to say, overanalyzing what your partner has already said to you (for which I am Queen, unfortunately), and just plain not saying anything at all..

My issue is, moreso, with the latter. There are now books and movies based on books (“He’s Just Not That Into You” is a prime example) relating to the topic of how to take a person’s action, especially with not returning phone calls or slowly refraining and withdrawing from what was daily, constant contact. I’ve done both ways: telling him straight up and ignoring him, and I found that, as harsh as it may seem, I prefer being blunt.

We’ve all experienced it before – the waiting, the wishing, the wondering, and you’re figuratively killing yourself over what to do next until you realise that the other person will probably never speak with you again. So wouldn’t it be nice to do unto others as you would like to have done unto you? Wouldn’t it be easier to just blurt out a 6 word sentence and be done with it? No waiting, wishing, wondering, and definitely no wasting of one’s time.

And if you were once into the other person and are no longer, then say something. Spare the both of you from further damage. Nip it in the bud. I challenge you. Man and woman up!

